VST.NET 'Hello world"

Aug 10, 2010 at 10:38 PM
Hi all, I am a programmer fascinated from this project, and I catched the opportunity to learn C# using this library. My goal is to create my host to customize the interface of some VST plugin, in this way I'll can create my personal effects panel. My problem is that i can't not able to compile any of the samples that i found, receiving errors anytime. I follow all 'readme' and downloaded many samples but my VS2008 Pro refuse to complete any compilation. Obviously many problems come from my low knowledge of the C# language (and english too), so I ask where I can download some simple sample 'hello world' source including only the the main libraries and classes to create a base to integrate and develop complete application. I hope to be clear Regards Paolo Pini
Coordinator
Aug 11, 2010 at 6:13 AM

If you download the samples .zip from the "Downloads" page, you should be alright. Can you copy-paste some of these errors here, so we (I) can have a look.

Aug 12, 2010 at 12:36 AM
Edited Aug 12, 2010 at 12:36 AM
Make sure you remove missing files references: "AssemblyInfo.General" in every project.
Make sure you remove missing files references: key files (*.snk) in every project.
Make sure you remove key signing in every project configuration.

The samples should compile after following these steps.
Aug 12, 2010 at 1:22 AM
Edited Aug 12, 2010 at 1:23 AM

Many thanks,

I've compiled the samples succesfully!
Now I'm tryng to understand the Host sample to try to hear something from an effect plugin, but for now it's still misterious how pass an audio file to the plugin loaded (if it can).
When I'll understood more I'll come back  here with specifics questions.

Aug 12, 2010 at 3:13 AM
Edited Aug 12, 2010 at 7:15 AM