Midi. Delete notes that very close to each other.

Topics: Midi, Newbie, Plugin Development
Jul 18, 2012 at 3:26 PM

Hello everybody!

I'm new to VST.NET so i have some dumb questions.

I want to create plugin for Cubase. It's main feature is  to prevent repeated notes. I have USB-MIDI device (electronic drums) that sometimes produce very fast, very near notes (first note is correct, but second note creates some cacophony). Those notes are very close to each other (i think near 30ms or smth like that). I want to create such a plugin that deletes those unnecessary notes. So there are some questions:

1) Is VST.NET can be used for this?

2) How can I use TIME in this? I was reading some docs but I don't understand how to do this. I was wondering to find some Midi-Vst examples (source codes), even delay-example would be good.

Thanks in advance!!!

p.s. english is not my native language = )

Coordinator
Jul 28, 2012 at 8:11 AM

Sorry for the late response (was on vacation).

Yes, VST.NET can be used to manipulate Midi messages, although I know that Cubase (and other Steinberg Hosts?) is very particular about what a midi plugin is. Most other hosts should be ok. You should check out the samples (downloads or source code tabs), it comes with a midi mapper plugin that would be a good place to start.

The VstTimeInfo structure can be used to ask the host specific time info. When you make the GetTimeInfo call you specify, what specific time attributes you would like to know and the host reports back (in the VstTimeInfo structure) what properties were actually filled. You need to call the GetTimeInfo method only once in your Process method.

Hope this clears things up a bit. I would suggest you start with the Midi Note Mapper sample and try to load it into your Host. When that works (means that your VST.NET installation is good), try to change the sample code to detect the repeated notes.

Good luck and have fun!
Marc 

Jul 28, 2012 at 5:46 PM
Edited Jul 28, 2012 at 5:49 PM