Do we need VST 3.x support?

Topics: Backward Compatibility, Cross Platform, Other
Coordinator
Nov 4, 2012 at 8:50 AM

Hi

I want to run this by you.

Do you think support for the new VST 3.x SDK is needed?

I also want to look into Mono and if we can make the new library portable over multiple platforms. At least Windows and Mac and perhaps Linux.

I have no experience working cross-platform or with Mono, so any help with that (tips, pointers, resources) would be most helpful.

I have read the newest VST 3.5.2 documentation and technically it should not be too hard to make something that works in .NET. The new SDK is interface based (at C++ level, which is totally different than VST 2.x) - but we're already used to that ;-)

If you have any other ideas on this subject please share them here. I would very much like this to be a community discussion - not a monologue on my part :-P

Nov 5, 2012 at 3:02 PM

I'm neutral on the VST 3 issue, though there's something to be said for keeping current (within reason).

However, I'm very much in favour of future cross-platform support!  I'm a a Windows (FL Studio) user myself, but many of my collaborators here in the music scene use Macs exclusively (probably a common situation) and I'd like for them to be able to use the VSTs I create.

Coordinator
Nov 5, 2012 at 8:41 PM

Thanx for your response.

It is too much work to try to fix the portability issue with the current version of VST.NET. But if I am going to build something for the new VST version that definitely has to work. That will mean working with Mono though. I'm already researching how to do portable C++ interop in Mono and it is possible, all I have to do is pick the best performing option.

Coordinator
Dec 1, 2012 at 1:38 PM
Edited Dec 1, 2012 at 7:47 PM

Vote on this issue here: http://vstnet.codeplex.com/workitem/9755

Dec 1, 2012 at 7:32 PM
Edited Dec 1, 2012 at 7:32 PM