MIDI Plugin: Exception under Cubase

Topics: Getting Started, Midi, Plugin Development, VST.NET Core, VST.NET Framework, VST.NET Interop
May 9, 2013 at 6:42 PM
Edited Nov 8, 2013 at 3:14 AM
Hello,

This is my first try to build a midi plug-in with the help of VST.NET.

I made a project using the VST.NET Midi Template and referenced the CLR4 x86 DLLs.

The project is compileable and can be loaded into Cubase, but can't figure out, what the shown exceptions mean.

The project includes the referenced .dlls in a folder called DLL. When you download the project, you can open it with Visual Studio 2010 and should be compileable rightaway, because the .dlls are part of the project.

My question is: Would it be possible, that someone downloads the project, compile it and give it a try under Cubase, to figure out, what I have done wrong?

As the exception is really weird and complex, I made a screenshot, that you can see here:

I think, it is some kind of UI error, because the GUI is only showing white space. I tried debugging under Cubase, which works, but I could not figure out, what the problem is.

Also, I am not sure, if I used the right *.dlls. My target platform would be Windows x86 and Cubase 5.1.

Thank you.
Coordinator
May 10, 2013 at 5:34 AM
Hi,

I'm sorry I don't have time to run and debug your program. But from what I see in the exception stack trace you have a PluginEditorView.BindParameter method that adds some sort of binding to some control. That is the point where it goes wrong. Try to debug you code with a break point in that method and see if 'something' is 'wrong' (like a null reference?). You can also try to comment out all BindParameter calls from your PluginEditorView.InitializeParameters method and see which parameter introduces the problem as you try them one by one.

Hope it helps,
Marc
May 12, 2013 at 7:15 PM
Hello Marc,

thank you for answer.