The ultimate noob

Topics: Getting Started, Newbie
Jul 12, 2013 at 10:35 AM
i wrote the below email to Mr Jaocobi but unfortunately he is going on holiday and cant reply, im hoping someone here can help me out:

I came across your gem of a project called VST.NET in my searches for a way to develop a VST in a language that I could familiarize myself with being from a PHP,Java,JavaScript development background. C++ was a whole different ball game but C# is a language i have started learning and love. With that said i am new to .NET development and also new to the Visual Studio environment. I got myself a C# book and Visual Studio 2012 express and have started from the bottom, developing small apps to learn the language, objects etc.

With that being said I love music, i am a producer and have an idea for a do it all MIDI VST, I know alot about midi and have developed vst's using flowstone but now i want to develop a vst from scratch hopefully with your gem VST.NET

I know you are busy and dont expect an instant reply but i am hoping for some guidance on getting going as i have been so frustrated reading all the jargon on your website and really being confused on how to get started. I know you mentioned you are working on a new documentation for VST.NET but what is most important to me is just to get going. Can you PLEASE, help me with the below points.

1) I have download VST.NET RTM.....this is the actual framework correct
FOLDERS in it (Code and Samples)
In code there is a CLR2 and CLR4, what is the difference here? 
How do i get started creating a new project for my VST using this framework in Visual Studio 2012 express. Please if you can explain to me like you are explaing to a new born baby :) because compared to your experience in .NET programming and Visual Studio my knowledge is like a new born babies
2) I downloaded the VST.NET.Samples.VS2008.Express