Build Help Please

Topics: Build
Aug 28, 2013 at 12:52 AM
Edited Aug 28, 2013 at 1:15 AM
I am struggling to understand what is meant by the line "REM out the gacutil call in post build events (Core & Framework)". I'm sure it is something simple but I have followed the steps to the letter thus far. I appreciate any help.

I should also preemptively ask for some more explanation for the next line.

Im using VS2012 express, on windows 7.
Aug 28, 2013 at 1:19 AM
Edited Aug 28, 2013 at 1:19 AM
In the project properties, under post build you'll find a gacutil command line, remove it.
This is meant to register an official release of the library in windows shared assemblies cache but since you don't have the official keys you shouldn't sign or redistribute the assemblies.
Aug 28, 2013 at 10:36 PM
Thank you! I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to this stuff, ill probably be back with more questions in the future
Aug 28, 2013 at 11:19 PM
Okay, I am back! I'm trying to build the sample projects, but they are all failing due to missing the AssemblyInfo.Common.vs. I attempted to remove them and rebuild and came out with something around 300 errors for all kinds of stuff. The instructions don't mention anything along these lines and I am a bit lost. Hope you're willing to bear with me.
Aug 29, 2013 at 12:32 AM
Please put the assembly back in and copy paste the exact errors, especially the first ones occurring, they are labelled by numbers in VS. Locate which project is the main dependency and build only that project (not all). Also make sure you have removed code signing in the project properties.
Aug 30, 2013 at 12:18 AM
OK, i am back with the errors. the first that shows is

Error 2 Source file '............_AssemblyInfo\AssemblyInfo.General.cs' could not be found C:\Users\Jeff\Documents\VSTFiles\Source\Samples\Jacobi.Vst.Samples.CorePlugin\CSC Jacobi.Vst.Samples.CorePlugin

it seems like this error is coming up in every one of the projects.