crackling noise with delay

Topics: 64 bit, Audio, Getting Started, Newbie, Performance, Plugin Development
Aug 28, 2013 at 9:25 AM
Hi there,
I am trying to use vst.net in order to practise on .net UIs. But I was also curious about how a vst works, so I tried to make a simple one, following the delay example I found in the sample codes.

I am programming using visual studio 2010 on a 64 bit machine and I am testing the plugin on a win 7 professional 32 bit machine. the daw is an old version of cubase (cubase 2).

The vst works, but it gives me a distorted and cracking sound. If I use only the dry part of the signal, the sound is ok, while if I mix it with the wet delayed part, the sound is not so clean.

I am compiling using dot net framework 2.0 (on the test machine I have dot net 4) and I am building for any cpu (also the Jacobi files I use are anycpu for dot net 2.0)

As I said in the introduction, I am new to vst programming and I wanted to know if it this behaviour is normal or there is something wrong in the configuration.
I found that if I use a filter to reduce the noise, the sound is pretty decent.. Should I have to add a filter in the algorithm? (a low pass one?)

Thank you for any help you can give me.
Coordinator
Aug 28, 2013 at 12:34 PM
Crackling and cutouts usually indicate that the plugin is not processing the audio fast enough. Distortion can be caused by clipping.

Perhaps if you lower the volume at the input of the plugin? Also testing in another host can give you some idea on where to look for the problem.

If you have created a custom UI you may also want to look at if you block the audio thread in any way - that will definitely cause problems in the sound.
A typical host will use several Threads to call into the plugin. One thread is dedicated to producing the audio (what I called the Audio Thread). Typically there is also one (main) thread for calling into the UI. So think of your UI as seperate from the rest of the plugin.