This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Brand new to VST.NET, question about the delay example

Sep 20, 2009 at 6:07 PM

Although I am not a programmer, my co-conspirator and I began using VST.NET last night,

He is a professional coder and was quite excited by the idea of being able to use .net to make plug-ins.

I myself am responsible for the design, DSP and such.

To begin we assembled the "sample delay" project.

Oddly, it appeared in VST Host just fine, noticbly altered .wavs in Audacity without audibly being an echo effect,

and worked some, but not all, of the time in SynthEdit.

We were a little baffled by the fact that normally VSTs expect a parameter range from 0 to 1, but the sample code was set to "500" by default, and could have gone to a max of 1000 except that in SE turning the knob would cause the parameter to be constrained to a maximum of 1.  But even without touching the knob, and reloading the program, a delay time value of 500 didn't cause an audible echo.

We were able to create an audible delay effect by changing the code to this:

private void _delayTimeMgr_ValueChanged(object sender, System.EventArgs e)

{

VstParameterManager paramMgr = (VstParameterManager)sender;

_bufferLength = (int)(paramMgr.CurrentValue * _sampleRate); // / 1000);

}

public float SampleRate

{

get { return _sampleRate; }

set

{

_sampleRate = value;

// allocate buffer for max delay time

int bufferLength = (int)(_delayTimeMgr.ParameterInfo.MaxInteger * _sampleRate); // / 1000);

_delayBuffer = new float[bufferLength];

}

}

I, myself, partially understand the above so I hope I can discuss it cogently.  Do the changes we've made make sense?  Or are we missing some underlying reasoning behind the original code and have created in inapt workaround?

Coordinator
Sep 21, 2009 at 9:54 AM

Welcome to VST.NET :-)