Unmanaged VSTi does not sound

Jan 5, 2010 at 1:40 PM

I'm new in the VST world, so I need your help.

I have loaded an unmanaged VSTi (ColossusVST.dll) in my application and I have opened its editor from wich I could load a patch (instrument) for the VSTi pluggin, after that when I use the VSTi keyboard pressing some notes, no sound is produced.

I'm sure there are some methods to invoke for enabling the sound for the VSTi, but ¿which method or methods do I have to use?

Please help me, your comments will be very grateful.

Coordinator
Jan 6, 2010 at 5:57 AM

A VST host is responsible for the audio routing. A plugin just processes that audio data and outputs the processed audio. So you need something like ASIO to drive your soundcard (input and output) and connect plugins to the audio busses (usually stereo but could also be 5.1). As a Host you need to call ProcessReplacing on each of the plugins that need to process the audio, feeding the output of the previous plugin to the input of the next plugin (chain).

There are managed .NET ASIO libraries, although I have no experience with them.

NAudio (playback only)
http://naudio.codeplex.com/

Codeproject
http://www.codeproject.com/KB/audio-video/Asio_Net.aspx

Hope it helps. 

Jan 7, 2010 at 12:25 AM

Thank you for the explanation, its very helpful for me, I will try your suggestions and then I will comment you about that... thanks again.

Jan 7, 2010 at 5:29 PM

Hello obiwanjacobi, I spent a long time and I had no success trying to connect my plugin to the audio buses :(

I have loaded the plugin (VSTi) and I have loaded the AudioDriver (from ASIO.NET project) but I don't know how to use de ProcessReplacing method. The ASIO.NET library looks easy to use but I don't understand how to use it with VST.NET

I analyzed the noise button's code in your sample project but I think that code works only with effect plugins but doesn't with intrument plugins...