This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Beginner to VST developing a Synth

Mar 1, 2011 at 4:07 AM

Hello,

For my senior project for Computer Science at my university, I chose to create a synthesizer. After fiddling with Xcode to no avail, I have adopted your framework which I discovered after searching for a way to create VST plug-ins through Visual Studio without delving into C++ (which I have no experience with and do not, at this time, have time to learn). I am mostly fluent in C# and VB.NET, so I thought that this would be a good place to start. I am also an electronic musician and have a lot of experience using both effect and plug-ins in Ableton Live 8. My project is simple - I will have a 10-harmonic slide control that will change timbre of the sound, and I will have an ADSR envelope controlled by knobs that will be put on the sound. I will have a master level control that will control the volume of the overall sound. I would like to have a graph showing the linear model of the ADSR envelope, but this is a stretch goal. Ideally, I will also have an LFO that will perform modular synthesis, but at this point in my progress, that is a stretch goal, as well. The plug-in will read in MIDI input from a keyboard, put the ADSR envelope on it, and perform the additive synthesis to add the timbre. Ideally, it seems that the MIDI input would simply provide a frequency and then the harmonics would be added to whatever frequency the MIDI input provided, but I'm not sure if that is the best way to do it yet. Anyway, not a concern for this forum.