This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

How can i use VB.NET (Jacobi) .dll within VB6 Environment?

Topics: Build, Deployment, Feature Request, Getting Started, Host Development, Host Processing, Newbie, Other, Plugin Development, Plugin Parameters, Plugin Persistence, Plugin Programs, VST.NET Core, VST.NET Interop
Feb 9, 2012 at 2:07 PM

Hello,

i am a Newbie in programming languages like c#, c++, .NET and my native language is german. So please be regardful with my bad english and my newbie knowledge about programming. I startet years ago programming with basic (visual basic 6, blitz basic, power basic and similar). So my basic knowledge is very small. I make music and i want to understand the vst-technolgy. From Steinberg i received some sdk and documentation for VST-Developing. Well, it´s nice but for me very hard to understand. It´s in c++. My english isn´t good enough to understand the documentation perfectly. I found the VST.NET and the great "JACOBI.dll". Well, great work! It´s in .NET but not for VB6. So i have another problem. I installed vb2008 and wrote some "small" software. VB.NET is more similar to VB6 than c++ or other programming languages. So i tried to create a small "VST-Reader". In VB6 (Visual Basic Classic) some things easier. I create a new project, add some references (.dll), read the german documentation, start with some declarations and use the .dll. This can be done in a few seconds. Easy as should be. So, i am a Newbie and i thought it´s in VB.NET also easy. I startet a new project and added some References (Jacobi.dll). I made some declaration and want to have directly access to some .dll or functions within the .dll. Well, it doesn´t work. Maybe i misunderstood the "documentation" and i missed some VB.NET Examples. Well, within the documentation i found some methods, functions and also some "short" examples, but not a full short code for VB.NET. Maybe my english, my programming knowledge and und